The Face of Love

I’m looking out into an endless ocean

What is the depth?

What is the length?

What unknown lies beneath these waves?

Is this what true love looks like?

The endless love you have for me

The depth and length of this love

I can’t see the bottom

As far as the east is from the west

I can’t see the end

This kind of love is scary

This kind of love is dangerous

Be still, my heart

For as long as I’ve been at sea

Waves have crashed against my boat

A violent war

Never once have I come close to sinking

Are you the reason why I haven’t sunk yet?

Many times I’ve seen you on the horizon

Many times I’ve contemplated leaving my faithful and resilient boat to reach you

Is it time to step out?

What is the cost of this love?

Be still, my heart

2 thoughts on “The Face of Love

Leave a comment