Forever

How long is forever?

I only ask because I never want this to end

Hand in hand

I don’t ever want to let go

This love is refreshing

You were here from the beginning

How did I overlook you?

Now I can’t take my eyes off of you

Is this normal?

Or am I just ignorant to the depth of what this truly is?

Your eyes burn bright

Your smile lights up the darkest places

Your voice restores what years of war has destroyed

How long is forever?

I only ask because I can never live without you again

You call me by my name and I love the way it sounds when you speak it

There’s purpose in me again

There’s motivation to get up every morning now

Oh my soul, I told you we’d see this day

Now look at us

Goosebumps run down my arms when I see you

My ears perk up when you look at me

How long is forever?

I only ask because forever just doesn’t seem long enough

One thought on “Forever

Leave a comment